Through the Ewing Halsell Foundation, Mr. and Mrs. Halsells’ spirit of philanthropy and generosity lives on.  The Foundation supports organizations that embody the Halsell family’s interests and values throughout the state of Texas, most notably in the San Antonio area.

Since 1957, the Ewing Halsell Foundation has upheld Mr. and Mrs. Ewing Halsells’ vision “to improve the quality of life for all Texans, especially those less fortunate than ourselves.” The Halsells transferred their pioneering spirit of philanthropy and entrusted this responsibility to future Boards of the Foundation to carefully, thoughtfully and prudently steward these resources.

Former Trustees of the Foundation:

Ewing Halsell
Gilbert M. Denman, Jr.
William H. George, Sr.
Jean Holmes McDonald Deacy
Helen Campbell
Leroy G. Denman, Jr.

Current Board of Directors
of the Foundation:

Hugh A. Fitzsimons, Jr.

Edward H. Austin, Jr.

William Scanlan, Jr.

William S. Harte

Steve C. Lewis

The Board has allowed inspiration from the Halsell’s to direct their decisions as they ensure the legacy continues. The Foundation has supported a variety of philanthropic efforts in San Antonio and South Texas across the following areas that aim to improve the quality of life for all Texans:

  • Arts & Culture
  • Education – PK-12
  • Higher Education
  • Environment & Conservation
  • Faith Based
  • Human & Social Services
  • Medical, Health & Wellness

These emphases reflect not only the Halsell family’s original interests and philanthropies, but also expansions and variations of those interests, in keeping with changing times and needs that can often only be met through the efforts of private philanthropy.